Jambo!

Yesterday, after visiting with tons of my family and friends at my sister’s bridal shower, I started thinking about how I feel about leaving this comfort zone to go to Africa. My first instinct was that leaving was going to be WAY harder than I expected… and why would I want to leave these people who care about me so much, and why would I want to leave this little ecosystem, made up of my family and friends, helping each other out and supporting each other, being part of their lives and seeing the changes taking place within this network and actually being part of those changes.. it’s a big concept that is difficult for me to explain, but I realize that it’s going to be hard for me to NOT be involved in the events that are going to take place within my network while I’m gone for two years.

On the other hand, I started thinking about all of the awesome opportunities that I’m going to have once I get to Kenya. I’m following other Peace Corps Volunteers (PCV) journeys through their blogs, and I’m just drooling over the things the see, the places they get to go, the stories about the people they meet… Plus, all of my family/friends have been so supportive and encouraging, it’s priceless. It makes it a lot easier to feel good about leaving, and not so guilty/selfish. They push me along. I know they back me up, and that helps a lot.

I’m just really looking forward to a new experience and learning new stuff that I’m pretty sure will change my life. for the better, ha. I told my mom yesterday that I thought that the Peace Corps will help me be less spoiled. She said “you’re not spoiled, Kelsey.” and I said “Okay, well, maybe it will make me less of a brat.” She did’t argue with that. haha. I do think it will be good for me, and I really can’t wait to be there to see how I will adapt and learn from their ways of living, and I’m looking forward to seeing how I can help. I know I’m going to be a teacher for the hearing impaired, but I think that’s going to be one of many roles I assume once I get there. Can’t wait to see what else I will get involved in, too!

I am kinda excited about the no electricity part, to be honest. Now, the no water situation is much less appealing, but I know I will get used to it. Same goes for the peeing in a hole. That’s probably not gonna be a very fun adjustment, but one I will have to make. It’s going to be hard, but at the same time, the biggest struggles have the best rewards. today’s motto: GO 🙂

Leave a Reply

