Things I think about when I should pack but don’t want to.

I should be packing my things from my apartment right now, so that I can move home for my last month in the states.. but I’m really not motivated yet, so instead, I began thinking about what will be hard for me when I leave.

1. I’m worried about meeting my co-volunteers. I’m very worried about whether or not I will fit in with them and maybe they have already traveled a lot, but this is my first time. I am kinda concerned about making friends, because it seems to me that it would be really, really bad if for some reason we don’t get along, or don’t have much in common, and they are the ONLY people that I will be able to relate to for three months.

2. I’m starting to stress about learning the language. I’m really good at memorizing, and English has always been my best subject, but a whole new language… I’ve never had to learn another language, and can’t even imagine what it’s like. Plus, I’m going to be learning kiswahili AND Kenyan Sign Language. So it’s going to be a double whammy. It is reassuring that I picked up on ASL quickly, I just like to have things to worry about I guess.

3. How am I supposed to fit all of those shoes they suggest I bring in two suitcases totaling 80 lbs, along with all of the other things like sheets, a sleeping bag, and towels? The list makes it sound like it would be wise to bring 5 pr of shoes, and I just can’t figure out where I’m going to fit them all.

4. I bet I’m going to feel silly reading this stuff after I’ve been in Kenya for about 6 months. These concerns are probably going to be pretty foolish once I realize how little I really need in order to get by.

5 thoughts on “Things I think about when I should pack but don’t want to.

  1. I felt the same way before I left for Germany. You’ll be fine. You’ll find that even if you have little in common with the others, you are all in the same boat. You’ll have your strengths and weaknesses just like everyone else and you’ll all work and learn and share together. The language thing will work out, so don’t stress about it. I went the first 12 hours in country without knowing which bathroom to use! It was very motivational for learning the native tongue.
    As for the shoes and the 80lbs limit; All I can say is “Good Luck” I’m sure we’ll be able to send packages to you occasionally. Love, Uncle Jim

  2. Hey I just found your blog while searching for other Peace Corps volunteers. My name is Sean and I’m leaving for Kenya the exact day and have the exact itinerary that you have and I figure that that can’t be a coincidence. I’m going to be doing Secondary Science teaching over there. I thought that it would be good to try and network with some other volunteers before we all head to Phily so we have some friendly faces when we get there. I’m from New Hampshire. Where are you from?

    1. Hey Sean! good thinking, I’m so glad you commented! are you all packed? I’m from a pretty rural area of West Virginia and will be an education volunteer for the hearing impaired. I’m 23 and just beginning to get a little nervous, but still very excited. I’ve talked to a volunteer in Kenya right now, and she’s absolutely loving it. e-mail me or facebook me and we can chat! full.kelseyr@gmail.com

  3. Hey there! I ran across your blog and looks like we will be in the same program in Kenya! Am looking forward to meeting you.

Leave a Reply

