Bad fever

Today has been a low. But, like I said last time I wrote about my low points, it has also been a high. First of all, I woke up sick. Burping, a lot… Giardia burps. It was gross. I was planning on going into Siaya Town today to run errands, drop some mail, spend some time at the cyber. Get quotes for the new things we will be buying for the school. I had really been looking forward to it, so even though I didn’t feel well, I decided I was going to give it a shot anyways. Today the kids were going to another school to watch sports, so it was a free day and I wouldn’t miss any teaching. After fixing some uji, which is just flour and hot water to make a porridge, I waited, hoping that it would help settle my stomach. Not the case. I went back to bed, having worse burps and horrible pain, and then I checked my email on my phone to find an email from mom that worked me up. I started crying, really crying– which didn’t mix well with the stomach pain and burps. Then I grabbed the bucket that I brought from my kitchen to bed with me, and in the midst of tears I sat on my bed and puked a lot. It was awful. And cried even more, followed by laughing because it would have been rather comical to witness. I will even admit that.

 

Afterwards, I laid in bed for a few minutes to make sure it was over, then I didn’t know what to do with my puke. Embarrassed, I took my bucket to the choo to dump it, all the kids watching. Oh well. Then I went back to bed and it seemed like the kids were extra needy today, knocking on my door as soon as I got comfortable in bed. After a few trips to the door, I explained I was sick. Then, later, Mr. Ambalo came and checked in on me. He encouraged rest and insisted I called medical, which I did. He said he would call for me when chai was ready. So, I laid in bed and laughed/cried until chai was ready. I couldn’t figure out what I was crying about, I’ve been sick a billion times and it really wasn’t all that bad, which made me laugh for being such a pansy. Anyways, I went to chai, ate a banana and managed to drink a  cup of tea. Before long, I was really aching and decided to retreat to my house. I took my temp – over 100 – great. More tears, but at least this time I didn’t puke.

 

So, throughout the day, same stuff. Felt awful, didn’t want to do anything, word got around that I was sick. Our workers brought lunch to me, which was really sweet even though I didn’t eat any of it. Then, I fell asleep in bed, and they came to check on me later – and came to wake me up when I didn’t answer the door, to make sure I was ok. It was thoughtful, even though when I feel sick, I really just want to be left alone – but I genuinely appreciated their concern. After a few updates with medical, I’m starting some meds before bed and am supposed to take bread with it – so they went to fetch some bread for me. It means a lot to know that they are concerned and caring.

 

And, that’s where I am right now – waiting for my bread so I can take some meds and get rid of this thing. OMG it’s so miserable. At first, I thought, “so this is what it’s like getting older – low grade fevers feel EXTREME!” and then I realized, it wasn’t just the fever, or me getting older, it was the fever coupled with homesickness and the lack of comforts we take for granted at home. Like a toilet to puke in. Funny story, the first time I puked this morning, it really smelled awful and I was too exhausted to take it out to dump it and clean it, plus I didn’t know how many times this was going to happen, so then I decided to make a mock toilet. I put about 6 inches of water in my bucket to hopefully cover the puke so it didn’t smell so bad… but then it just splashed in my face (too much distance, I decided). Regardless, it kind of worked and I didn’t dump it till afternoon. Again, I strongly urge you to appreciate that fine piece of work in you house, just down the hall. Wouldn’t it be nice…

2 thoughts on “Bad fever

  1. My name is Sara Reeves. I am an RPCV (Samoa ’07-09) and will be in Kenya this summer from May through July. I am managing an Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA) program that will bring 14 graduate students to (mostly) Western Kenya for a course on project design and internships with local partner organizations. We will be headquartered in Mumias, just outside of Kisumu, and most of our students will intern in the Western area, we also have one partner organization on the coast outside of Mombasa.

    I am reaching out to PCVs in Kenya in the hopes you might be willing to provide advice/recommendations I can pass along to my students. About four months after our COS, my husband and I traveled for three months in Thailand and Cambodia. Beforehand I also reached out to PCVs in the area. They were able to provide invaluable advice and we were also able to meet up with many of them (which allowed us to stay in rural villages, rather than being trapped in the tourist spots).

    If you would be willing to share insights into Kenyan culture and living and working in Kenya, that would be wonderful. In addition, any suggestions for a packing list are also welcome. I relied heavily on the Peace Corps Kenya Welcome Book when creating the handbook for my program. However, if I remember correctly from Samoa, the packing list in the welcome book does not include some of the most important things (and doesn’t provide the context, so you do not realize until you arrive without an item on the list, you thought was silly, just how important that item is).

    I appreciate your consideration. You can reach me at reevess@indiana.edu.

    Thank you,

    Sara Reeves
    (RPCV, Samoa ’07-09)
    Sara Reeves

Leave a Reply

